476
Because of the sheer number of reviews, you can sort them above to quickly find LessLoss products of interest.

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 11/22/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

A little bit about my Audiophile search:

I've been a music lover for over 30 years!

My first equipment was:

Vinyl player Thorens TD 160 with Microacoustics MA733
Amplifier Mission 778 (Still alive!)
And selfmade Exponential boxes
Next Step: Transrotor Hydraulic player with C4/M4 From Yamaha

Then a lot of changes with amps from Luxman, Burmester, McIntosh.
A nice combination Restek Preamp, Poweramp, Cd-player and Dynaudio C3 Speaker. Another fine combination was Einstein-Audio with Lansche No.4 Speakers.

But all these conbinations were still far away from my present combination:

Esoteric SACD-Player
Rossner & Sohn Vinyl-player (I'm waiting for a new pickup the Sound-smith
Stage Guage system)
SMC-audio VRE-1 Preamp
Gruensch Poweramp
Lansche Cubus Exponential Speakers
All cables Stealthaudio and Bastanis.
Antivibration table from Halcyonics, and artificial ground from Acoustic Revive.

Component List

- Esoteric SACD-Player
- Rossner & Sohn Vinyl-player (I'm waiting for a new pickup the Sound-smith
- Stage Guage system)
- SMC-audio VRE-1 Preamp
- Gruensch Poweramp
- Lansche Cubus Exponential Speakers
- All cables Stealthaudio and Bastanis.

Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

The LessLoss cables work very fine, they bring in imediately some calmness to the music. After some days the soundstage became very wide angled, and the instruments became precisely located, with a very good 3D image.

I think they are absolutly worth the money, and these cables make any equipment perform a step closer to real music.

Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 11/20/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

Been an Audiophile since 1990. Started off with Bose multichannel system with a simple Denon receiver. I moved on from Bose to Paradigm Mini-monitors in mid the mid 90's. Since the release of DVD I became obsessed with this hobby. Nearly 18 years later, I've invested nearly $60k in my audio and video gear. I've always been a skeptic of high end power cables but the professional reviews are becoming hard to ignore.

Component List

- Arcam AV888 Processor
- Pass Labs X250 2 channel amp
- ADA PTM-6150 6 channel amp (surrounds)
- Dali Helicon 800 MK2 speakers
- Dali Helicon C200 center
- Dali Helicon IW200 for surrounds
- JL Audio F113 subs (pair)
- Pioneer BDP-5FD Bluray Player
- JVC RS10 Projector
- Stewart Studiotek 130 Screen

Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

Like many others, I was very skeptical about "high-end" cables. As a result, I never considered the investment so my doubts on upgraded power cables were not based on personal experience. However, when I was invited to evaluate the LessLoss power cables, I was more than happy to give it a chance. Part of the excitement of being an audiophile is the fun derived from trying new gear. For me, this was a great opportunity try something new and keep an open mind without the risk.

When I received the cables, I immediately replaced the stock cables on my Bluray player, processor and amp with the LessLoss. The first test for me was my favorite 2 channel reference Chesky recordings. At first, I thought I was imagining things. I said to myself "am I really hearing a difference?". Guitar strings had more substance, bass sounded tighter and more controlled, the background was blacker with a deeper soundstage. I was amazed but I still didn't want to believe it. I called in a audiophile buddy of mine and asked if he could help me with some blind tests. We played the same track for each test and I asked him to randomly replace the stock cable with the LessLoss. I was able to pick out the LessLoss almost every time. Again, instruments had more substance, deeper sound stage and the music had a level of excitement I didn't experience before.

All I can say is, I'm a believer. Get these cables! If you can't replace all your cables, replace your source gear first. You will not be disappointed! Not to mention, the cables look great too. They really add a touch of class to your equipment rack.

Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 11/04/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

I have had my system for about 3 years. My experience is that is produces music that is highly resolved with a soundstage that is both deep and wide with instruments in their proper places. Tone is very neutral and realistic (as much as is possible given limitations of room, recordings etc.) Every component and accessory detailed above has added to the characteristics noted above. System strengths are acoustic performances of all types. Weaknesses are lack of deep bass need for hard rock and heavy metal, though these genre are still very listenable. In heavy rotation on the system are Mozart and Joe Satriani.

Component List

- Integrated Tube Amp - Almarro A318B SET with standard power cable
- Speakers - Green Mountain Audio Pico Executives
- Interconnects - Marigo Audio Analog 1 Signature
- Speaker Cables - Marigo Audio Speaker 1 Signature
- Digital Source - Marigo Audio modified Panasonic S-55 DVD player with Marigo Audio cryogenic treated custom silver power cable
- Analog Source - Denon DP-60L with Goldring 1012GX MM cartride, Rega Fono MM preamp amp
- CD Mat - Marigo Signature 3-D Stabilizer Mat
- Rack - Adona AV45-G audio rack with Marigo Audio Tuning Dots
- Amp and Digital Source Isolation - Marigo MysteryFeet
- CD Treatment - UltraBit Platinum

Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

Thank you again Louis for the opportunity to audition your fine products in my home. Your risk-free trial program is a great idea, please keep it going.

Because of work and personal commitments, I was not able to test the product as long as I wanted (don’t know if that is really possible), but I was still able to get in about 12 hours of play time with about 4 hours of critical listening.

Initial Impression:

Plugged in the LessLoss DFPC cable to my Almarro amp and had a “WOW” response. The difference was significant. There was more of everything. More bass, more mid, more sound stage. By more, I mean, a fuller, smoother, more natural sound.

As noted in my introductory statement, my system with the standard cable is very transparent, meaning more sterile, lighter, less life-like, when compared to the DFPC set-up. My 15 year-old daughter noticed the difference with the DFPC right away and liked it very much. What I was able to confirm again, is that my system is very good at resolving component changes. Every “tweak” that I have made so far, from fuse swaps to isolation feet, has changed the sound of the system. Such changes have made noticeable, but moderate, impacts on the system’s performance. The DFPC had the most significant impact of a component change on the system’s sound to date. I was not expecting that.

Extended Listening:

One of my challenges in trying to form an opinion about the DPFC is that I have been listening to my "new" system for about three years and was very satisfied to date. Your cable significantly changed the system's performance for the better in almost every way, except that I have gotten so used to the high-end transparency of my system (I am not saying this is a good thing) that I kept feeling that something was missing. Where a Chesky recording of Rebecca Pidegon allowed me to hear what I think was the sound bouncing in the recording studio on the stock cable, the DFPC muted that “artifact” but presented Pidegon’s voice in a more natural manner. Was the artifact, in fact, just distortion? I don’t know, as I have never tested other power cables before to see how that particular sound changes.

Other listening sessions confirmed the initial impression of a fuller sound. Again, as my system is relatively sterile, I was overwhelmed by the “more of everything” which I had not heard before.

On balance (with the weight significantly in your favor), your cable provides a more enjoyable listening experience because I had more “near life-like sound” moments than ever before. As I was able to A/B the cables with my old set, I came away with a very favorable impression of your product.

Conclusion:

I have learned a lot about my system and how significant a power cable can change a system’s performance. I am still absorbing and mentally digesting my experiences during the trial and wish I had more time with the cable.

Louis, thanks again for the trial and for making such an impactful product.

Will keep in touch.

Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 11/01/2009 by Marek Supa
I have been using your cable for just 15 minutes and am happy with it. More bass, more clarity, in the first moment a little bit less highs, but, after a while, I realized it is not less, but more precise heighs.... So, these are my first impressions... The cable is already burned-in because of the Audiodrom tests and I like it from the first moment...

Thank you very much.

Best regards,
Marek
Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 10/24/2009 by Barry Howard
For 35 years I have involved myself in our hobby. My primary focus has been on my 2 channel system and only recently have I invested in higher quality video.

After playing with power cables over years, I stumbled across LessLoss and became intrigued by the number of endorsements and reviews I read. If the DFPC had not been raved about by mainstream reviewers I may have let myself become cynical based on the consumer reviews completed as part of what I suspect was a product launch program. To this point I had bought into the belief that power cords make a difference but they were not "a component" and were system dependant. The DFPC has changed that paradigm and I never thought that I'd gladly endorse a $600 power cord to place on a $1000 piece of equipment. It really is that good and I've taken the attitude that it is a lifetime product that will be with me as electronics fail or are replaced.

I purchased one cable and first tried it on my Sonic Frontiers Line 3SE+ with Valvo tubes. Immediately I was struck with the new size of my soundstage. There was a profound power to the music without the typical sacrifice of a loss of micro details. In fact the details were clearer without any "edge". The noise floor had definitely been lowered. When I audition new products in my system I tend to strain to hear differences in detail retrieval. I didn't have to do that with the DFPC; it was all just there and most importantly, balanced - no frequency was making its presence noticed at the detriment of another. After about 30 minutes I noticed that both of my feet were tapping the floor during every song. For me this is the most important factor - involvement in the music and the feeling of participating in it!

Since that original purchase I have sourced all of my components with DFPCs and after each installation heard new improvements. My phono preamp is like a new product with improved pace, strength, and detail.

I mentioned earlier that I recently began to invest more money into video reproduction. I now have a 58" plasma TV and an Onkyo 876 receiver. I bought the receiver because of the Silicon Optix HQV video processing chip that is much better than what is in the Panasonic TV. I have been astounded by what the DFPC did for the video processing; everything improved including better blacks, contrast, detail, colour saturation, and naturalness (less digital looking and more film like).

On top of the product quality is the exceptional customer service from Louis Motek at LessLoss. He is in that rare breed of company owners (like Rogue Audio) who demonstrate humility along with a customer centric approach and make the purchasing experience a pleasure.
Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 10/20/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

I am 57 and spent the first $300 I ever made on a Scott compact stereo and have been upgrading ever since.

As you can see, this is pretty much an LP playback system. My priorities are a pure midrange, a broad and deep and stable soundstage, and some forgiveness of less than perfect recordings. On the subject of soundstage, it seems to me that a well defined soundstage goes hand in hand with a balanced resolution of low level detail and dynamics, as ambient cues are pretty subtle. I play a little guitar and know the sound of a Strat through a tube amp and a Martin acoustic guitar, so those are also reference points. Of course getting voices right, especially female voices like Neko Case, Liz Phair and Emmy Lou Harris is very important. If the system does manifest any frequency imbalances, I don't mind a little euphonic warmth, as a good many of my favorite rock and pop LP's can be on the bright side. I can deal with some brightness if I know it's inherent in the recording, but any hint of additional brightness or glare is distracting to the point of being unacceptable. From this, you would think I would be running all tubes, but my speakers are open baffle dipoles and the manufacturer specifically recommends solid state amps for their high damping factor. One other thing - the Muse preamp is remote controlled and has a feature that allows you to change absolute polarity from normal to inverted without leaving your listening position. Proper absolute polarity makes a noticeable difference on nearly every LP. I can usually tell when absolute polarity is right because the soundstage goes deeper when it's right.

I do have a CD player, hardly ever use it. I've never had a high end CD or SACD player in my system, and doubt I ever will. Digital is fine for my car or pool room, but I'm just not interested in spending a few thousand dollars on a decent digital front end for a collection of about 300 CDs that hasn't grown much in the last few years. Meanwhile I'm at about 2600 LPs and growing.

Lately I've been trying different speaker cables in the hopes of ameliorating a slight glare that I believe comes from having a mostly solid state system. I tried silver speaker cable and was impressed by the amount of detail they revealed, but they were way to bright from the start and that didn't change much after about 100 hours. They've been replaced with the Cable Research labs wires. I also tried magnet wire and found it bright and fatiguing as well, even after about 200 hours break-in.

My current system still has some glare / hardness that is a little distracting. I know my current power cords are a weak link and looking forward to trying the Lessloss power cables. I just want to put on a record and become totally immersed in the performance, without having any of my attention drawn to some aspect of the actual reproduction. I've been there before, but in a mostly successful pursuit of higher resolution, some gremlins have been flushed out of hiding so to speak.

The subwoofer sits right in front of the amp, and I haven't yet optimized it's placement in the listening room.

Component List

Some notable past components

- Magnepan speakers
- Quad ESL 63 speakers.
- AR Classic 60 amplifier
- Sota Star Sapphire turntable
- AR SP9 preamp
- Microgroove + phono stage
- Cardas Neutral reference speaker cable

Current Components

- Lyra Helikon Cartridge
- ET II Tonearm
- TNT Jr Turntable, upgrade with flywheel and SDS power supply
- Discovery tonearm wire
- Herron VTPH-2 Phono Stage
- Muse Model 3 Signature preamp
- Marantz SM-11S1 Power amp
- Audio Artistry Vivaldi speakers
- HSU VTF-2 MK 3 subwoofer
- Shunyata Hydra 8 power conditioner

Cabling

- 3M Discovery Interconnect amp to preamp
- Herron cable from phono to preamp
- Cable Research Labs speaker cable
- VH DIY power cable Shunyata to Herron phono stage.
- Virtual dynamics #3 power cable, amp to Shunyata and preamp to Shunyata

Room

- Carpeted basement room on concrete slab 17' by 23'

Other

- System runs on a dedicated 20 amp circuit
- Critical mass turntable isolation platform.
- Oyaide wall outlet
- Stillpoints, Ceraball and various other isolation feet under every component.
- VPI rack filled with sand

Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

Right off the bat, a confession. I didn't proceed very scientifically, as I have limited time to listen to music and wanted to derive maximum benefit from the time I had with the LessLoss power cables. So, I hooked up my Marantz power amp using the DFPC Signature cable, ran a DFPC Mini to the Herron phono stage, and hooked up the Muse Preamp with the DFPC Original. These were all plugged into a Shunyata Hydra 8. I would have loved to have had a DFPC for the Hydra, but I had to stick with the stock Shunyata Diamondback because the LessLoss demo set did not include a cable with a 20 Amp IEC connector.

For the next three evenings I just listened to records. Emmy Lou Harris for female vocals, Ry Cooder "Jazz", a long time reference, Tom Waits, Jimi Hendrix, Celtic music, some classical.... With the DFPCs in, listening was a pure joy. Getting rid of that last vestige of grain (distortion) is a big priority for me now, and with the LessLoss cables installed, the grain virtually disappeared, revealing black backgrounds, subtle echo tails, hall cues, nuanced instrument harmonics; the standard low level stuff we audiophiles attend to that make reproduced music seem more real. Voices sounded natural and lyrics were very easy to follow. The sound stage was wider, deeper and more 3D than I've ever heard. Another way of saying 3D would be to say that instruments and vocalist had better front to back separation than I'd ever heard from my rig. These cables deliver the music. Lots of goosebumps.

The night after I sent the LessLoss power cables on, I reverted to my current power cables and made sure to let the system burn in for about an hour by playing classical organ music. Then I sat down to listen to some LP's, wondering if I could still be happy with my old setup. Short answer, no. I knew the old cables would be grainier, and after the LessLoss experience, that was painfully obvious. Something I hadn't paid much attention to with LessLoss in place, but was immediately apparent when I reverted, was the change in the quality of the bass. There was an overshoot/tubby quality that simply wasn't there with the LessLoss cables in place. More simply, the LessLoss were tighter in the bass, and it sounded so right I didn't notice it until I reverted. Also, when I was using the LessLoss, I tried plugging the power amp DFPC cable right into the wall (Oyaide outlet), rather than the Hydra. That helped dynamics a bit with no increase in distortion. Prior to that I had always had my power amp plugged into the Hydra. So, when I went back to my old cables, I tried plugging my power amp right into the wall. That lasted all of about 5 minutes before I plugged it back into the Hydra. Grain on top of grain. It would seem that the filtering capabilities of the LessLoss were such that they didn't depend as much on the Hydra being upstream, whereas when I used my old cable on the power amp, the Hydra was a necessity.

Do to financial limitations, I find myself "stuck on the farm after seeing Paris", but thanks for the chance to participate in this demo. I now know my system has untapped potential that the LessLoss power cables can reveal, and I will be upgrading as finances permit.

Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 10/06/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

After years of jumping around various components and sources, from Sony, Krell, NAD… I eventually settle with a full Bel Canto system. I am fascinated by their efficiency and overall synergy across different components. Most of my signal and speaker cables are leftover from previous setups as I am very impressed by them initially and continue to enjoy their tonal quality. Obviously, the Shunyata Diamondbacks are the weak link here. They are by no means inferior in anyway, but I do like to experiment with the possibility of high-end power cables to allow the monoblocks to breathe a little more.

I was not always an audiophile. I just loved music, all sorts of music, classical, latina, rock, jazz, you name it. If it’s good music, I would spend the time. I can listen all day on a mono radio as long as it’s playing good songs. I used to hook up my CD player to the guitar amp. Throughout the years, I come to realize the potential of the CD and how good they sounded with better equipment. So slowly, I learned and tried to understand the various components and attempted to piece together what I call a “harmonic utopia”. A system where I can enjoy any type of music, with enough bass to pump up a party, dynamics for Beethoven, lifelike vocals and crystal acoustics. I like to spend more time listening and less time tweaking.

I attend CES in Las Vegas annually and always reserve my last day to explore the high-end audio exhibits. The last few visits, I went door to door in the Venetian suites to realize how much each Audio Equipment manufacturer are so much alike, the same setups, same marketing push, and more than one incident when the exhibitor failed to even proper showcase their own product. As my patience often run short, I am looking for the next big stamp in the market, something impressive at first glance (or listen). Perhaps that’s why I am so intrigue by Lossless, user reviews stating it outperforms the Shunyata King Cobra? That says something.

Component List

- Source: Bel Canto CD2 and DAC3 – XLO Signature 3 AES/EBU Digital

- Amp: Bel Canto Ref1000 – Cardas Golden Cross XLR Interconnects

- Speakers: Dynaudio 25th Special – Tara Labs Air 2 Speaker Cables

- Power: PS Audio Power Plant Premiere

- Power Cables: PS Audio Xtreme Power Plus (to wall), Shunyata Diamondback (Other components)


Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

The unpackaged cables arrived in a well padded travel case. First thing I did was examine each cable for any possible mishaps from traveling and it was obvious that the casing did its job in protecting the contents inside.

According to the website and existing reviews on the web, the DFPC power cables will be impressive right out of the box. Without hesitation, I replace my main power cables (PS Audio Xtreme Plus $250 MSRP) with the DFPC Signature from the wall to the PS Audio Power Plant. Elvis 30 #1s is still in the CD turntable from my last listening session, so I figured, why not.

Voilà! The difference is immediately noticeable. First thing I noticed is the clean solid bass, even from old recordings, the sound is tight and crisp. I don't have a power meter on my amps, but it seems as if the amps are able to breathe a little smoother, and suck up power from the wall at will. Next up, I place on the CD turntable Jennifer Warnes "The Hunter", classic audiophile standard test album. The bass once again overwhelms me, the Bel Canto Ref1000 are driving my Dyna Sp.25s with control and precision.

Am I amazed yet? Not quite yet. Considering the DFPC Signatures are $1149 a piece, adding that the Ref1000 are capable of punching out 1000 Watts at 4 Ohms, the performance is expected. Is the performance better than what I was working with? Yes, definitely.

Round 2, keeping the DFPC Signature connecting the main power source, I replaced the cables to each monoblock (PS Audio Xtreme Statement SC $550 MSRP). This time, I left the system running with moderate volume as I left the house to take care of a few errands. Upon returning, I picked up where I left off previously and auditioned the system using the same music. Here is the tricky part. The DFPC Originals produced a sound that was exceptionally pleasing. It's a sensation very difficult to describe as a technical aspect, but it sounded just right. Music filled the room, vocals projected from center above 5 ft from the speaker plane, slightly higher than eye level, and instruments directed from where they should be. I sat there for hours just listening and enjoying music, not power amps, not outrageously expensive equipment (subjective to some, but obvious to many).

Round 3. Finally, I replaced the last 2 links with the DFPC Mini hooking up my DAC and CD Player. The sound wasn't different, same beautiful music flowed flawlessly through my speakers. Here comes the real test.

Considering the price for entire set of LessLoss Power Cables in use (~$3000 USD), how much better were they compared to my current cables ($1400 MSRP which I purchased mostly used for half the price). I started removing the LessLoss DFPC cables in reverse order than I inserted them. First taking the DFPC Mini out and putting back the Shunyata Diamondbacks. Music flowed as it had previously as I sat and listened for over an hour to some of my favorite test material. Same enjoyable music, without fatigue.

Subsequently, I removed the DFPC Originals and replaced them with the PS Audio Statement SC. This time, I did notice a different. Music wasn't as clean nor alive as I was used to 20 minutes ago. Was it harsh and unbearable, not at all. The bass was solid, highs were smooth, the speakers sang. After another 30 minutes of listening, I still couldn't find nor describe the missing link. Now lastly, I removed the DFPC Signature from the main power source and replaced it with my old power snake. Um... Game Over, no Contest! With the DFPC Signature powering the source only instead of the whole system, all that made music enjoyable was gone. I couldn't sit comfortably through a single track without fidgeting or something attempting to discover the missing link.

Round 5 - A/V Performance. To satisfy my curiosity, I plugged in the DFPC Signature into my Panasonic 42" plasma, sat back in the couch and watched my fiancé browse through some of her favorite HD channels. Picture quality was flawless, grain-less vivid colors, deep blacks and bright whites. Well, it was fun while it lasted, but time to pack up the fun. It wasn't until I repacked all the LessLoss cables before my fiancé questioned me if I had done something to the picture setting on the TV. Apparently, she had noticed a significant decline in picture quality after I removed the DFPC Signature. That's when I know the magic was in the cable, think again. You haven't seen real High Definition until you've seen it with LessLoss.

Between the DFPC Original and the PS Audio Statement SC, I have to give the edge to the DFPC. Considering they are both priced similarly, it's an obvious choice for anyone in the market for a power cord at this price range. The Mini's stand strong amid a target market that's over-flooded with competition. In terms of solid performance, I have not experienced any power cable better than the DFPC Signature. It didn't make your current equipment better, what it does is help you realize the full potential of your current equipment. Now, am I enticed to replace all my power links with DFPC Signatures? Considering my equipment, replacing all 5 power cables would cost me a little shy of $5000 USD, not a small chunk of change. For those of you that have equipment to match and available spending power that dwarfs this amount, do not pass up on the DFPC Signature.

Well Done, LessLoss made a believer out of me.

Music Tested:

- Elvis 30 #1 Hits
- Jennifer Warners "The Hunter"
- Stereophile Editor's Choice Test CD
- "The Wings of a Film" Hans Zimmer
- "Mozart, Night Music" Andrew Manze
- "Wicked" Soundtrack, Original Broadway Cast Claudio Abbado "The Berlin Album"
- Beethoven #9, Claudio Abbado
- Shelby Lynne "Just a Little Loving"
- Sarah Brightman "Classics"
- George Clinton "Greatest Funkin' Hits"
- Jimi Hendrix "The Ultimate Experience"
- Pink Floyd "The Darkside of the Moon"
- Aerosmith "Toy in the Attic"

Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 09/25/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

Started out in 1990 with a 27" SONY TV, NAK reciever, SSI pro-logic surround processor and Altec Lansing bookshelf speakers all for about $2K. I was hooked after watching Terminator 2 on LD.

Recent addition of Blu-ray player and 60" 1080p plasma have greatly enhanced my viewing experience. Uncompressed audio is like hearing surround sound for the first time all over again. Puts a smile to my face every time!

60/40 in favor of HT. Jazz is my preference when it come to music.

Component List

- Dali Euphonia MS4
- Dali Euphonia CS4
- Von Schweikert Audio TS-350

- JL Audio Fathom F112 Subwoofer
- Sim Audio Titan M/C Amp

- Pioneer Elite KURO PRO-150FD
- Arcam AV600 Receiver
- Placette Audio Passive Linestage Pre

- Pioneer Elite BDP-05FD Blu-ray
- APL 3910 CD Player
- Magnum Dynalab MD-100 Tuner

- Pure Note Cables (RCA ICs)
- Ridge Street Audio Cables (IC from APL to Pre)
- Virtual Dynamics Nite II PC (7)
- Sistrum SP-004
- Sistrum Audio Points 1.0AP1D
- Symposium Rollerblocks Series 2+ Tweak
- Billy Bags 5606 A/V rack
- Sound Anchors CC Stand

Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

After owning Virtual Dynamics Nite IIs for a few years now, I felt that I had found the right PCs. Happiness is finding the right cable as someone once said. I couldn't be more pleased, but I wanted to try the Lessloss DFPCs after all the positive reviews, figuring I had nothing to lose with Louis' "try before you buy" vision.

My choice of music is mainly Jazz and Brazilian. I also like Billie Holiday, Nina Simone, Dave Matthews, Jason Mraz, Pink Floyd and a few movie soundtracks. Listening is strictly 2-ch for me. When not listening to CDs, I have my tuner locked in on WBGO 88.3 FM (great late night jazz from across the river in Newark, NJ).

The first thing I try to listen for when auditioning a new cable is a dark background. It's MOST important to me because this allows for better detail, hearing deeper into the recording. Every instrument in the soundstage becomes more focused, more so in its own space.

Midrange becomes more liquid. Switching between the DFPCs and the Nite II, it was all there, but I wasn't prepared for what the LessLoss brought. Background with the LessLoss is quieter, so much so that it seems the soundstage has now deepened. I'm aware that that word is overused, but it really is, in my case. Inserting back the Nites, the soundstage has become "front heavy". With the DFPCs, voices are more natural and relaxed. As much as I like Dave Matthews, his voice can sound a bit like fingernails on the blackboard with the wrong cables, definitely not so with the Nite II and even more organic with the DFPC. The DFPCs have nice body and weight across the board, but I did not confuse it with warmth. They are very neutral in my system. PRaT is excellent.

Cables being system-dependant, one can easily be happy with the Nite II in their system as I was, but IMO LessLoss has really got something special here with the DFPCs. Build quality is top notch. I like the flexible design and the Oyaide 079 plugs. It has everything I like about the Nite II, but is a bit more refined. The music just flows.......

It should be noted that along the 2 Original and Mini DFPCs that Louis sent, there was also a 2m DFPC Signature. The price being twice as much as the original, I did not demo it. I figured "Ignorance is Bliss"!

Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 09/10/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

My experience with high end cords is limited, so my expectation is to compare the picture quality attributes of all three cables. I currently use your DFPC original on my tv and blue ray, so the signature is what I am primarily interested in looking at. I will do what I can on the audio side, but only have the tv speakers to work with.

Component List

- Pioneer Elite 151
- Pioneer Elite BDP-09FD

Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

I was able to use all the cords on both the TV and the blu-ray player. Some summary thoughts:

All three were excellent for video. The signature cord seemed to pull slightly more color/edge detail from the picture, especially through the TV connection. I was quite happy, though, with the mini and original cords, as they produced a vibrant, saturated, and noise free picture with both cable and blu-ray sources. By virtue of how good they all looked, the mini really stood out for the value.

Since I did not have speakers to test music, I could only listen to audio through the TV speakers. Here, the signature appeared to provide more depth and spatial separation. All three provided great sound, though, considering my limited system capabilities.

I would have liked to have a second signature cable, so as to have my whole system running through them (TV and Blu Ray). I would have been interested in seeing if a cumulative effect (multiplier) would occur and to have a more purist determination. Instead, I could only evaluate the signature directly through the TV, but indirectly through the Blu-Ray - as the TV would have one of the other cables.

I wish I were able to discern more details that I could give you a better list of comparative differences, but things looked so close. Even upon switching out cables for the same scene one after another. Great cables! Thanks again for allowing me to participate.

Go To This Product's Detailed Information

DFPC Series [Original]

Date Added: 09/03/2009 
Introductory Statement by the System Owner

I am a retired EE and have been in this hobby since I worked as a summer intern in 1969 at RCA-Consumer Electronics where they manufactured console stereos. I have gone through many permutations of systems since then, always with an eye toward the "best bang for the buck" as evidenced by my original system: Dual/Dynaco/AR/zip wire. I tend to be very skeptical of exotic (expensive) cables, specifically power cables. Having compared several exotic PCs already and not being impressed, I am hoping that Lessloss PCs will surprise me this time.

Component List

- McIntosh MCD500 cd/sacd player
- Sony CDP-101 (THE first CD player...original owner purchased 1983)
- McIntosh C46 preamp
- McIntosh MC501 monoblocks
- Von Schweikert VR5 Anniversary speakers
- Von Schweikert VSA biwire speaker cable
- MIT CVT Term 1 Pro XLRs
- Power Wedge 116
- DIY PCs with Wattgate connectors

Review of the LessLoss DFPCs

"Alice laughed: "There's no use trying," she said; "one can't believe impossible things."
"I daresay you haven't had much practice," said the Queen. "When I was younger, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I've believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast."

Based on this profundity I've decided to confine my critical listening sessions to the early morning hours before breakfast. Just kidding, but some may swear I took the queen's advice when I say "yes Virginia, there is a difference in power cables". My goal in auditioning this "snake oil" was to prove to myself that as long as a PC delivered 120V+/- (220V for our Euro friends) and sufficient current, it has done its job, end of story. Now I must sheepishly admit that I found switching out PCs on the front end, in my case a CD/SACD player, did indeed have an impact on the sound. I also have learned, at least in my system, that switching them out on my amps both pre and power, had no discernible effect. I had four PCs on hand: my trusty DIY, PS Audio Power Punch (their least expensive model), Shunyata Python CX and the LessLoss, both the Original and the new Signature. Cutting to the chase--I found that the PS Audio cable, even though it has great connectors and build quality, made things sound very much in-your-face, strident and planar. My DIY cables trounced the PS Audio in that regard, smoothing things without any apparent loss of detail. However, both the Shunyata and the LessLoss cables made vocals sound as if they had more body and dimensionality. Interestingly, I found that there was no discernible difference between the LessLoss Original cable and the Signature...interesting because the Original is half the price of the Signature. That observation could very well be system dependent. The LessLoss Original is every bit the Shunyata's equal and at roughly half the price. All the evaluations were made using Diana Krall's "I Could Drink a Case of You" from her Live in Paris cd...acoustic piano and vocal. Check it out if you haven't heard it as it is a superb recording.

In conclusion, I must say that the LessLoss power cords do seem to make a positive difference when used to power the front end of a system. On my sacd/cd player it did give vocals more weight and depth, taking off any slight edges that may have been there. During the A/B process I tried to listen to specific high or low frequency parts of the recording but since our sonic memories tend to be woefully short, that effort was in vain. So my comments regarding vocals were the only way I can describe what essentially is the indescribable, although that never seems to dissuade many of our esteemed audio "reviewers" from resorting the sonic-speak: bloom, air, liquidity...ad nauseum. I swore not to go there so hopefully my use of descriptors weight and depth don't borrow from their over-used rhetoric. I compared the LessLoss Originals to the Shunyata Pythons and thought the results were virtually identical so I'd have to say that if one is considering either, the fact that the LessLoss is half the price of the Shunyata would enter into the purchase decision. One other tidbit of info is that you seldom see a LessLoss PC in the Audiogon classifieds and I would have to assume that there a lots of their cables out there because they do advertise rather heavily.

If you are a skeptic about all this I can certainly understand as I have always been one myself. I am not trying to convert believers here, merely offering what I have experienced. PC substitution should be considered one of the last tweaks in a system and probably only in systems capable of a high degree of resolution. Some may find the sonic differences subtle at best. But the fact remains, when I switched between my DIY power cords and the LessLoss, there was a discernable positive difference, however subtle.

Go To This Product's Detailed Information




LessLoss started its business on Audiogon in late 2007. Within the first couple of month, word about LessLoss spread like wildfire among Audiogon members. Here is the feedback received from our clients during our first year of operation. This is from even before we had our own website.



Louis is one of the best in the business, truly professional and very fast production and delivery. I am very satisfied by your superb service. Many thanks.

Positive by Buyer Sebastian (135) on 07-29-2008

Excellent transaction with Lessloss on dynamic filtering power cord. Good communications & fast shipping. A+++++

Positive by Buyer Sennett (45) on 07-03-08

Bought 3 pc's from Liudas in Jan/08. Outstanding product as advertised. Performance is everything and more than I expected. Kudos to Lessloss cable for a great product. Very highly recommended...A+++

Positive by Buyer Phillykid (33) on 06-19-08

Bought the Lessloss PC cable about a month ago; the quality and build are excellent. Compares very favorably with more expensive PCs. Highly recommended. Thanks!

Positive by Buyer Pseles (138) on 05-30-08

A power cable that makes a huge difference; simply an excellent design. First-class sales and service - highest recommendation.

Positive by Buyer Palasr (246) on 05-29-08

Cable #6 powering my Emm Dac6e which comprises part of my headphone system. Again, more resolution, detail, quietness from my Victor HP1000phones. Best single device in my system ever. Time to purchase more. I'm spreading the word re: this marvel!!

Positive by Buyer Dott_c (534) on 05-28-08

Liudas,your service is INCREDIBLE,no waiting 4-6weeks for cables and the ones I already have are doing more than I hoped A+A+,Thanks again,Don

Positive by Buyer Drummermitchell (57) on 05-27-08

Lightspeed delivery,very nice cable.I am kind of proud Liudas of such good cables from this part of Europe

Positive by Buyer Zodiak5 (72) on 05-25-08

Liudas is a honest and dependable seller, always answers my e-mail questions promptly. The LessLoss cable is a work of art, and sounds good too, cable is still burning in. I'm quite happy with my purchase.

Positive by Buyer Jgy1 (54) on 05-24-08

Very smooth transaction, lovely cables. Thanks Liudas!

Positive by Buyer Tympani (99) on 05-23-08

Amazing power cord! It beats my other much more expensive cables hands down - blacker background, natural, more details and dynamics. All my CDs open up and sound more musical. Brought two cables so far and will be buying more for sure. Liudas is a s

Positive by Buyer Hfigear (18) on 05-22-08

Cable #5 powering my Day Sequerra tuner results in being able to receive more stations!!! No more hiss, greater dynamics. Makes it sound like my ADA Tune Suite XM. This cable is the most remarkable product that has come my way in the past 20 + years

Positive by Buyer Dott_c (534) on 05-17-08

Kind and lightspeed fast service. The cable is a steal and outperforms other cables, costing much much more. Increasing every aspect of sound you can imagine. Absolutely outstanding!!! Thanks again Liudas.

Positive by Buyer Stani (3) on 05-15-08

Item arrived quickly and well packaged. Excellent communication. A great product from a great seller.

Positive by Buyer Mouse (336) on 05-14-08

This is cable #4 in my system.Used powering my Ashley Xovermy MRS scares me out of the room!What power below 15Hz.No power cords that I have owned,many15X the $579.asking price have come close 2 this level of performance Looking forward 2 adding more

Positive by Buyer Dott_c (534) on 05-14-08

Cable #3 added to the PS of my Cello Palette. Well, no more static as I rotate the dials for the various frequencies. 1st cable to accomplish this! All power conditioners, including the Accuphase P1200 did not rectify the situation.Unbelievable!

Positive by Buyer Dott_c (534) on 05-13-08

Fast shipping and great sounding cables. Would not hesitate to deal with Liudas again.

Positive by Buyer Rschryer (183) on 05-11-08

This is my 2nd power cord from Lessloss. The first one was used to power my VRE-1, this one for the EMM CDSA SE. Again, a stunning result, w/quieter backgrounds, something that I thought I achieved w/the 1st cable. Next unit, the Xover.Unbelievable!

Positive by Buyer Dott_c (534) on 05-11-08

Excellent service and product, do not hesitate to try these cords. AAA+

Positive by Buyer Rpw (207) on 05-10-08

Super fast shiping and a fantastic power cord. The very best I have ever used. Thank you Liudas!

Positive by Buyer Stefank (36) on 05-05-08

You cant get a better seller in audiogon than Louis. For a cheap PC ( compared to many other manufacturers), he is responsive to your mails and even offer suggestion for cable configuration. Buy with confidence. First class seller with 1st class serv

Positive by Buyer Audioblazer (75) on 05-04-08

Excellent seller...and truely excellent cable. The Dynamic Filtering Power Cable is just fantastic...musical...liquid...3D. Thanks!

Positive by Buyer Gburt55 (24) on 05-02-08

Liudas has SUPERB DELIVERY,excellent communication. Cables are gorgeous.Can't wait till my amps come back,so I can reconnect.Can't say enough,check out all the POSITIVE FEEDBACK,Don Mitchell

Positive by Buyer Drummermitchell (57) on 05-01-08

The Lessloss offers WIDE dynamics.It's spooky quiet with an airy sound stage. Worth 10 times its list price.I am buying more!

Positive by Buyer Dott_c (534) on 04-30-08

Liudas is superb to deal with,4 day delivery to my door.wonderfully crafted cable. Excellent communication,and he's very patient with my questions,I'll be doing business with Liudas again(oops I already have)Thanks,Don

Positive by Buyer Drummermitchell (57) on 04-24-08

Very good sounding power cable,fast delivery-recommended.Thanks!

Positive by Buyer Zikhmark (779) on 04-22-08

I own a number of well know and expensive Powercords that I use throughout my system. The Lessloss is clearly on par with the best for less. Used on the preamp of a system that was never bass shy, I felt like I had discovered another octave of music

Positive by Buyer Marcner (246) on 04-22-08

Re: Purchase of Lessloss AC power cable. Immediately apparent something is special, it changes the envelope of the delivery of the music. The tripath solid state AR Amp sounds more flowing and used with my Tube SET, more bass from my 2 way speakers

Positive by Buyer Enaud (27) on 04-20-08

Very good power cable at reasonable price, fast shipping, easy communication. Highly recommended, both product and seller.

Positive by Buyer Jessenov (207) on 04-20-08

Thanks Liudas. Very fast shippment, the whole transaction took 3 days. Excellent cable, the best I've owned. It's my second purchase from Liudas so I know from experience that it will be even better after burn in. Highly recommended.

Positive by Buyer Jkuc (39) on 04-20-08

Quick shipment and very good AC cord. I'll be back for more.

Positive by Buyer Fig (242) on 04-18-08

STELLA SERVICE. Felt like a valued customer. Cables are simply amazing. The sound stage is huge and sibilance free. Amazes me the way instruments and voices soar out of thin air. Thanks Luidas.

Positive by Buyer Dabarrie (33) on 04-13-08

Outstanding service, excellent communication, and a fantastic product, one of the best power cables available for the $$$$. thanks again!

Positive by Buyer Jsowen (304) on 04-10-08

Quick delivery this time, My CD player never sounded so good. Thanks Luidas for another great cord to add to my system. A+++

Positive by Buyer Jimman (36) on 04-10-08

I would like to thank Liudas for his excellent service. He is selling a fabulus product that helped me to solve the problem of high frequency harshness I experienced with my CD player.I will buy more cables to replace my Acrolink and Oyaide Tunami

Positive by Buyer Geopolitis (12) on 04-08-08

I have now completed a full system (Digital/Power/Analog) integration using the LessLoss product. These power cables are a work of auditory art. Simply plug them in and be amazed! It's one product any sensible audio enthusiast should not miss out on.

Positive by Buyer Mang53 (494) on 03-16-08

I now have 4 of these in my system and every one of these on each component brought my system up to new levels. Nicely built as well. Highly recommended component!

Positive by Buyer Jp1208 (117) on 03-10-08

Liudas is the gold standard in service. His cord in my system amounted to a hugh and positive upgrade. Thank you.

Positive by Buyer Bander (189) on 03-05-08

Outstanding service and the cable is as stated. The best I have heard so far over other regarded power cables. Highly recommend!!

Positive by Buyer Teapac (69) on 03-04-08

Great on-going communications and terrific product.

Positive by Buyer Gerryn (192) on 03-03-08

I still find it hard to believe a power cord could be equal to or even greater than a serious interconnect upgrade, but it is! Thanks Liudas for the great product and perfect customer service.

Positive by Buyer Mang53 (494) on 03-03-08

The perfect seller in Audiogon: exceptional communication, easy transaction and fast and safe shipping. Recommended.

Positive by Buyer Ciomargabe (81) on 02-27-08

Perfect transaction.Great communication and very fast shipping. A+ Audiogon seller

Positive by Buyer Hi5harry (636) on 02-26-08

Superfast shipping, good communication, doesn't get any better than this. Also, the cables are butifully made of high quality components. Thanks Walter.

Positive by Buyer Kitncar (72) on 02-23-08

Excellent transaction. A great power cable and company. Worth the wait.

Positive by Buyer Rishel (114) on 02-20-08

A great experience overall, Liudas's enthusiasm for his product and the ongoing updates made this a very positive experience. The cord has made a significant difference in my system, most notably a much lower noise floor..

Positive by Buyer Ford07 (21) on 02-20-08

Trustworthy and very knowledgeable seller/designer/manufacturer. Kept in touch with updates and info. while cord was being manufactured and processed. It's all good - and all very high end.

Positive by Buyer Dadsears (45) on 02-13-08

Liudus is a great guy and the power cord is outstanding, I will glady buy from lessloss again, the cord took my system to another level

Positive by Buyer Kedoades (3) on 02-13-08

2nd entry; bought more cables. IMHO, better powercables than these are not available! Lessloss p/c's are MORE than a system upgrade. And 2 day delivery, from Lithuania?!! Amazing product!!!

Positive by Buyer Hoochie39 (225) on 02-13-08

Very nice sounding cable, beautiful build and a very reasonable price with fast international shipping. A+++

Positive by Buyer Gersimon (111) on 02-07-08 re: Cables

IMAGINE every listening session as your best listening session. Every recording played the best it can play. Your equipment performing always at optimum. Lessloss makes it happen! These cables are the best of the best!!!

Positive by Buyer Hoochie39 (225) on 01-22-08

In my years of audio and all the cords I tried Lessloss cords, made a difference you can hear for the better and it's not subtle. Good work Liudas! AAAA+

Positive by Buyer Jimman (36) on 01-21-08

Excellent seller and Audiogoner, great communicator. Power cable is outstanding, excellent... Great soundstage, excellent definition, black background as promissed.

Positive by Buyer Jkuc (39) on 01-18-08

Liudas is great to deal with: excellent communication and service. The cables are very well made and well worth the money. Thanks!

Positive by Buyer Jfd01 (93) on 12-12-07

Outstanding transaction and outstanding power cable.

Positive by Buyer Tubeyy (78) on 11-23-07

Great transaction well worth the wait, this is by far the best powercord I have used in my system over the past 20 years, some cost as high as $3,000 and this power cord for $500.00 beat them all hands down and is a steal at its current asking price.

Positive by Buyer Phillyb (150) on 11-16-07

Top notch construction, performance to match, and a great transaction. Highly recommended because the cable does what is claimed, lowers noise while improving dynamics. Thanks!

Positive by Buyer Wineaux (54) on 10-22-07

If it was just always so simple !! Excellent, correct and accurate communication. Absolutely no loss at all even before listening to the cables. Highly recommended.

Positive by Buyer Williamredburry (45) on 09-26-07

This cable was the BEST purchase that I've ever made!! I’m not affiliated with this product in anyway, but feel sorry for Audiophiles who don’t purchase these cables. Once Audiophiles try this cable, they will wonder how this product can be sold at such a low price. I’m baffled… In an industry full of snake oil, unethical cable retailers, enormous profits and scams - this LessLoss "Filtering Power Cable" is a "breakthrough product" which blows away the ALL competition at ANY price!!! I honestly don’t know how LessLoss can make a profit while using Oyaide connectors, hand braiding and an incredible passive AC filter. LessLoss "Filtering Power Cable" are sold from a manufacturer /owner /designer who is trustworthy, ethical, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to deal with. Take a chance!!!!, PayPal your money to Lithuania - and you'll be rewarded with great Customer Service, and the finest power cord made. Hear for yourself what you are missing!!! Thanks Again!!!

Positive by Buyer Spacecase (83) on 09-22-07

Excellent service and communication. Fast shipping. Thanks, Liudas!

Positive by Buyer Tvad (660) on 09-20-07

Excellent products! Delivery of the power cords and XLR digital interconnect cable,was received within 10days of shipping. Luidas kept me informed on the status of my order. Very good communication and feedback to my inquiries.

Positive by Buyer Kpoulard (18) on 09-10-07

First-rate all the way! The cables are sensational, and the price is a steal. The 1-2 week delivery from Lithuania is well worth the wait. Liudas and Vilmantas at LessLoss are perfectionists pursuing their love for the art of music reproduction.

Positive by Buyer Lookin4evr (117) on 08-17-07

Before upgrading your gear, please try the Lessloss Blackbody. It works wonders with my equipment and adds a realism, a new quality to the sound that will leave you speechless. Absolutely wonderful piece of gear.

Positive by Buyer Stani (6) on 01-31-10 re: Accessory